Uraufführung von Dejans „S.C.H.E.rzo für Orchester“ / Kroatische Erstaufführung von Dejans „Klavierkonzert im Istrischen Stil“
Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra & Krzysztof Urbański / Zagreber Philharmoniker & David Danzmayr
Aktuelle CD – MOZART: Klavierquartette & Rondo concertante (Bearbeitung: D. Lazić)
Die neue Mozart CD bei Onyx Classics veröffentlicht // Making-of Film "Time for Mozart" (2020)
“This recording will surely add to this Croatian pianist’s reputation as one of the leading players of his generation.”
BBC Music Magazine (über "Life, Love & Afterlife — a Liszt recital", Onyx Classics)
„Dejan Lazic is the real deal.“
The Sydney Morning Herald (nach dem Klavierabend im Melbourne Recital Centre)

Aktuell

Erfolgreiche Debuts in Norwegen & in der Schweiz mit Mozart & Rachmaninov
Dejan’s neue Kompositionen in Italien & in der Schweiz (Frühling / Sommer 2022)
Dejan veröffentlicht seinen Online-Klavierkurs zu Beethovens „Mondschein“-Sonate
Artist-in-Residence mit dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester, Saison 2021/22
Dejan’s neue Mozart-CD gewinnt OPUS KLASSIK 2021
2021 Festivals & Konzerte mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra & Iván Fischer
Neue Mozart CD bei Onyx Classics veröffentlicht // Making-of Film „Time for Mozart“ (2020)
Dejan debütierte mit dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra unter Jan Willem de Vriend

Archiv

Biographie

Dejan Lazićs erfrischende Interpretationen des Repertoires haben ihn zu einem der einzigartigsten und ungewöhnlichsten Solisten seiner Generation gemacht. Das Spiegel Magazin notierte zu seiner Liszt-Aufnahme für Onyx Classics: „Grandiose Technik, engagiert und witzig, dabei vollmundig und nachdenklich: Dieser Längsschnitt durch Liszts Schaffen ist ein Geschenk, sowohl für Einsteiger als auch für Kenner.“ Dejan Lazić hat zuvor viele Aufnahmen bei Channel Classics veröffentlicht, darunter eine von der Kritik gefeierte Liaisons-Serie; die neueste davon verbindet C. P. E. Bach und Britten. Im Herbst 2017 ging er auf Tournee mit dem Niederländischen Kammerorchester und Gordan Nikolić und nahm Beethovens eigene Bearbeitung seines Violinkonzerts als Klavierkonzert in D-Dur, Op. 61a, auf. Diese CD wurde im Mai 2018 von Onyx Classics veröffentlicht. Seine Live-Aufnahme von Rachmaninovs Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra und Kirill Petrenko wurde 2009 mit dem deutschen „ECHO Klassik“ ausgezeichnet. Eine Aufnahme des Tripelkonzerts von Beethoven erschien 2015 bei Sony Music. Seine Aufnahme mit Mozarts Kammermusik, die 2020 bei Onyx erschien, wurde mit dem renommierten „OPUS Klassik 2021“ in der Kategorie „Kammermusikeinspielung“ ausgezeichnet.

Dejan Lazić spielt regelmäßig mit Orchestern wie dem Atlanta Symphony, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Boston Symphony, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Basel Chamber Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Danish National Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra Hamburg, Netherlands Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic und das Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Lazić erfreut sich einer bedeutenden Anhängerschaft im Fernen Osten, tourt mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra und Iván Fischer durch China und tritt mit NHK Symphony und Yomiuri Nippon sowie mit den Philharmonischen Orchestern von Seoul und Hongkong auf. Er hat eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Dirigenten wie Giovanni Antonini, Iván Fischer, Michael Francis, Andris Nelsons, Ivan Repušić, Thomas Søndergård, Robert Spano, John Storgårds, Krzysztof Urbański, Jan Willem de Vriend und Kazuki Yamada aufgebaut. Darüberhinaus leitet und dirigiert er die Orchester zunehmend auch selbst.

In der Saison 2021/2022 ist Dejan Lazić Artist in Residence beim Münchner Rundfunkorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und unternimmt eine Tournee mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra und Iván Fischer. In 2022 und 2023 debütiert er auch mit den Philharmonischen Orchestern aus Dresden, Stuttgart und Bergen, mit der Slowakischen Philharmonie, sowie mit dem Orchestra della Svizzera italiana. Rezitals führen ihn regelmäßig an Spielorte wie das Teatro Colón (Buenos Aires), das Lincoln Center (New York), das Melbourne Recital Centre, die Forbidden City Recital Hall (Peking) und zu verschiedenen europäischen Musikzentren und Festivals. Im Sommer 2022 tritt er erneut beim Gstaad Menuhin Festival auf: in einem Solo- und einem Kammermusikabend mit Sol Gabetta (Violoncello) und Andreas Ottensamer (Klarinette), wo auch seine neueste Komposition „Kaleidoskop“ für Klarinette, Violoncello und Klavier uraufgeführt wird. Weitere Kammermusikpartner sind die Geiger Joshua Bell und Benjamin Schmid (u.a.).

Die Kompositionen von Dejan Lazić erfahren zunehmende Anerkennung, er wurde 2015 von den Sikorski Musikverlagen als Komponist unter Vertrag genommen. Seine Bearbeitung des Violinkonzerts von Brahms als Klavierkonzert wurde 2009 mit dem Atlanta Symphony Orchestra und Robert Spano uraufgeführt sowie aufgenommen und erfreut sich anhaltenden Erfolgs: bei BBC Proms, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Hamburger Osterfestspielen, Chopin-Festival Warschau, in Amerika und Japan. Lazić hat sein „Klavierkonzert im istrischen Stil“, Op. 18, viele Male seit seiner Uraufführung beim Aspen Music Festival 2014 gespielt. Sein erstes großes Orchesterwerk, eine Tondichtung mit dem Titel „Mozart und Salieri“ (nach Alexander Puschkin), Op. 21, wurde von Indianapolis Symphony und Krzysztof Urbański in Auftrag gegeben und uraufgeführt; seine Kadenzen zu 6 Mozarts Klavierkonzerten, Beethovens Klavierkonzerten Nr. 1 – 4 und Haydns Klavierkonzerten Nr. 4 & 11 wurden ebenfalls bei Sikorski neulich veröffentlicht.

Lazićs jüngste Mozart-Bearbeitung „Rondo Concertante“ für Klavier und Orchester (nach dem 3. Satz aus Mozarts Klaviersonate in B-Dur, KV 333) wurde im Juni 2018 beim „Mainly Mozart“-Festival in San Diego, USA, uraufgeführt, mit dem Mainly Mozart Festival Orchestra unter der Leitung von Michael Francis. Mit vier Komponistenkollegen komponierte Lazić das Werk „Der Forellenteich“, das im Oktober 2018 uraufgeführt und auf CD veröffentlicht und anschließend auf verschiedenen Festivals in Deutschland aufgeführt wurde. Sein „S.C.H.E.rzo“ für Orchester, Op. 25, ein Auftragswerk des Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, wurde am 17. Januar 2020 unter dem Dirigenten Krzysztof Urbański uraufgeführt. Lazić arbeitet derzeit an seiner „Chinesischen Fantasie“ für Violine und Orchester, Op. 22.

Dejan Lazić wurde in Zagreb, Kroatien, in eine Musikerfamilie hineingeboren. Er wuchs in Salzburg auf, wo er am Mozarteum studierte (Klarinette, Klavier und Komposition). Entscheidend für seinen künstlerischen Werdegang war die frühe Begegnung mit Zoltán Kocsis und Imre Rohmann beim Bartók-Festival in Ungarn sowie der maßgebliche Einfluss von Peter Eötvös. Dejan Lazić lebt in Amsterdam.

Zitate

Galerie

Rachmaninov: Moment Musicaux Op. 16, Nr. 1, Andantino (Ausschnitt)

World Premiere of Dejan’s “S.C.H.E.rzo for Orchestra” / Croatian Premiere of Dejan’s “Piano Concerto in Istrian Style”
Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra & Krzysztof Urbański / Zagreb Philharmonic & David Danzmayr
Latest CD – MOZART: Piano Quartets / Rondo concertante (arr. Lazić)
New Mozart CD released on Onyx Classics // Making-of film "Time for Mozart" (2020)
“This recording will surely add to this Croatian pianist’s reputation as one of the leading players of his generation.”
BBC Music Magazine (on "Life, Love & Afterlife — a Liszt recital", Onyx Classics)
“Dejan Lazic is the real deal.”
The Sydney Morning Herald (after solo recital at the Melbourne Recital Centre)

News

Successful debuts in Norway & Switzerland with Mozart & Rachmaninov
Dejan’s new compositions premiering in Italy & Switzerland (spring / summer 2022)
Dejan releases his Online Piano Course on Beethoven’s “Moonlight” Sonata
Artist-in-Residence with the Munich Radio Orchestra, season 2021/22
Dejan’s recent Mozart-CD has been awarded OPUS KLASSIK 2021
2021 festivals & concerts with Budapest Festival Orchestra & Iván Fischer
New Mozart CD released on Onyx Classics // Making-of film “Time for Mozart” (2020)
Dejan debuted with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra under Jan Willem de Vriend

Archive

Biography

Dejan Lazić’s fresh interpretations of the repertoire have established him as one of the most unique and unusual soloists of his generation. The Spiegel magazine noted of his Liszt recording for Onyx Classics: “Grandiose technique, dedicated and witty, whilst full-bodied and thoughtful: this longitudinal section through Liszt’s oeuvre is a gift, both for beginners and connoisseurs.” Dejan Lazić has previously released many recordings with Channel Classics, including a critically acclaimed Liaisons series; the latest of which couples together C. P. E. Bach and Britten. In autumn 2017 he performed on tour and recorded Beethoven’s own arrangement of his Violin Concerto as Piano Concerto in D major, Op. 61a, with Netherlands Chamber Orchestra and Gordan Nikolić. This CD was released in May 2018 by Onyx Classics. His live recording of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with London Philharmonic Orchestra and Kirill Petrenko received the German “ECHO Klassik Award” in 2009. A recording of the Beethoven Triple Concerto was released for Sony Music in 2015. His recording with Mozart’s chamber music, released by Onyx in 2020 was awarded with the prestigious “OPUS Klassik 2021” in the category “Chamber Music Recording”.

Dejan Lazić regularly plays with orchestras such as the Atlanta Symphony, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Boston Symphony, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Basel Chamber Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Danish National Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra Hamburg, Netherlands Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic, and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. He enjoys a significant following in the Far East touring China with Budapest Festival Orchestra and Iván Fischer, and appearing with NHK Symphony and Yomiuri Nippon, as well as Seoul and Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestras. He has built close collaborations with conductors including Giovanni Antonini, Iván Fischer, Michael Francis, Andris Nelsons, Ivan Repušić, Thomas Søndergård, Robert Spano, John Storgårds, Krzysztof Urbański, Jan Willem de Vriend, and Kazuki Yamada. In addition, he increasingly leads and conducts orchestras himself.

In the 2021/2022 season Dejan Lazić is Artist in Residence of the Bavarian Radio’s Münchner Rundfunkorchester and he undertakes a tour with the Budapest Festival Orchestra and Iván Fischer. In 2022 and 2023 he is also debuting with Dresden, Stuttgart, Bergen, and Slovak Philharmonic Orchestras, as well as with Orchestra della Svizzera italiana. Recitals take him regularly to venues such as the Teatro Colón (Buenos Aires), Lincoln Center (New York), Melbourne Recital Centre, Forbidden City Recital Hall (Beijing), and to various European music centres and festivals. In the summer of 2022 he will appear anew at the Gstaad Menuhin Festival: in a recital and a chamber music concert with Sol Gabetta (violoncello) and Andreas Ottensamer (clarinet) where also his latest composition “Kaleidoscope” for clarinet, violoncello and piano will be premiered. Other chamber music partners include violinists Joshua Bell and Benjamin Schmid (a. o.).

Dejan Lazić’s compositions receive increased recognition, he was signed as a composer by the Sikorski Music Publishing Group in 2015. His arrangement of Brahms’ Violin Concerto as a piano concerto was premiered and recorded with Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Robert Spano in 2009 and has enjoyed much ongoing success, at BBC Proms, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Hamburg Easter Festival, Chopin Festival Warsaw, in both Americas and in Japan. Lazić has performed his “Piano Concerto in Istrian Style”, Op. 18, many times since its premiere at the Aspen Music Festival in 2014. His first major orchestral work, a tone poem entitled “Mozart and Salieri” (after Alexander Pushkin), Op. 21, was commissioned and premiered by Indianapolis Symphony and Krzysztof Urbański; his Cadenzas for 6 Mozart Piano Concertos, Beethoven’s Piano Concertos Nos. 1 – 4, and Haydn Piano Concertos Nos. 4 & 11 were recently published by Sikorski as well.

Lazić’s most recent Mozart arrangement, “Rondo Concertante” for piano and orchestra (after the 3rd movement from Mozart’s Piano Sonata in B-flat major, K. 333) was premiered in June 2018 at the “Mainly Mozart” Festival in San Diego, USA, with the Mainly Mozart Festival Orchestra conducted by Michael Francis. With four fellow composers Lazić composed the work “Der Forellenteich” (“The Trout Pond”), which was premiered and released on CD in October 2018 and subsequently performed at various festivals in Germany. His “S.C.H.E.rzo” for Orchestra, Op. 25, commissioned by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra was premiered with conductor Krzysztof Urbański on 17 January 2020. He is currently working on his “Chinese Fantasy” for violin and orchestra, Op. 22.

Dejan Lazić was born in Zagreb, Croatia, into a family of musicians. He grew up in Salzburg, where he studied at the Mozarteum (clarinet, piano and composition). The early encounter with Zoltán Kocsis and Imre Rohmann at the Bartók Festival in Hungary was decisive for his artistic career, as well as the significant influence from Peter Eötvös. Dejan Lazić lives in Amsterdam.

Quotes

Gallery

Rachmaninov: Moment Musicaux op. 16, No. 1: Andantino (excerpt)